## OUR HISTORY

rom its beginning, Mt. Pleasant Missionary Baptist Church has drawn her strength from God, and the mission and the vision of those who came before us. The original history of the church was destroyed by water while in the possession of former Secretary, Sister Rose Merry Mack. This recorded history was done by the late Deacon Peter Carter which was researched at the Lee County Court House. Deacon Carter served as Chairman of the Deacon Board. Mt. Pleasant at this time was without a pastor.

Deacon Carter stated that Mt. Pleasant was organized in 1861 by a band of baptized believers in Christ. The organizers were: Rev. Mack C. Carter, Rev. Tom Collins, Tom Garner, Tom Thornton. The remainder of the History was compiled by Sister Martha Phillips, church clerk and Sister Maggie Smart and Sister Phoebe Hatcher who had also served as Church Clerks.

The church was first constructed under a Bush Arbor on property deeded to Mt. Pleasant by Slave Owners. In agreement with Mt. Pleasant, Old Piney Grove Baptist Church members were allowed to conduct service on 4th Sundays and conduct burials in the church cemetery until the construction of their church was completed.

Some of the pastors in the early years were: Reverends Dough Johnson, Ben London, Gain Byrd, and Tom Johnson. There were no recorded years of these ministers service as pastor.

*In 1890,* the first frame building was built on the East edge of the Present acreage. The church was constructed on a wood frame with four windows on each side and a sound pole in the center to carry voices with two doors in the front.

*In 1918,* Rev. Gene Murray was called to serve as pastor; during his leadership, he baptized Sister Maggie Smart, who was with us until her passing in 2002.

*In 1925 – 1936*, Rev. Wallace Davis was called to serve as pastor; according to the rebuilding historical date of the church he served for 11 years.

In 1936-1937, Rev. L.C. Hammond was called to serve as pastor for approximately one year.

In the late 30's the building had become so badly dilapidated it was later rebuilt in December 1938 under the leadership of Rev. Davis. Rev. Davis had been called back to serve as pastor with charter members Deacon Willie Ross as Clerk and Deacon William Johnson as Treasurer. Deacons ordained under the leadership of Rev. Davis were: Willie Burrer, Solomon Harris, Tom Poole, William Johnson, Mack Cook, Ephesus Waters, Isom Hightower, Peter Carter, Joseph Adams, Peter Jimmerson, Alford Strozier, Dan Waters, Willie Ross, George Smith, Freddie Clayton, Emory Thomas, Sr. and W.D. Hatcher. Rev. Davis served as pastor for more than 30 years.

After the death of Rev. Davis, Rev. L.D. Kinchen was called and served a short time.

*In 1955-1967,* Rev. L.C. Jenkins was called as pastor and served for 12 years. Under his leadership, Wimberley Waters, John Henry Mack and Joe Clayton were ordained as deacons.

The church also served as a school house until a school was constructed on church property (the new school house stood about 160 feet to the right side of the church) and was named "Waters Crossing".

In 1967-1981, Rev. P.S. Sparks was called as pastor and served for 14 years. Many accomplishments were obtained; a new block church was built at the present site, pews and pulpit furniture were added. Five deacons were ordained: Elias Toson, Daniel Clinton, William Thomas, Henry Waters and William Waters. In 1981, Rev. W.L. Blackshear was called as pastor and served a short period of time.

In 1982-1986, Rev. W.D. Slaughter was called to serve as pastor and served for 4 years. Under his leadership, the dining hall was built and furnished.

In August of 1986-1985, Rev. Theodus Drake was called as pastor. Under his leadership, central heat and air was installed, carpet was installed throughout the church, windows and lights were upgraded, pews cushioned and 3rd Sunday worship was added. Bible Study was held on 1st and 3rd Tuesdays. classrooms, choir room, pastor's study, baptistery, office/finance room, copier, computer and piano was purchased. Three deacons were ordained: they were Mozelle Hubbard, Freddie Hatcher and Willie Price, Jr.

*In April of 1995-1996*, Rev. Charles Luke was called as pastor and served until 1996. His accomplishments during his tenure included organizing a Board of Trustees and Bible Study every Tuesday Night.

In April 1997–2001, Rev. Howard E. Heard was called to serve as pastor and under his leadership, Rev. Earl Harrison was ordained and served as Assistant Pastor, and in 1998 was appointed Youth Minister along with Rev. Fleetwood Price. Four deacons were ordained under Rev. Heard's leadership, they were: Carlos Manning, Willie Qualls, Ackie Lynn and Andrew McKenzie. Under his leadership, the church began worship service every Sunday with the exception of 5th Sundays. He organized the New Members Class, Praise and Worship, Tutorial and Nursery Ministry. Rev. Heard had the church property surveyed and recorded at the Lee County Courthouse. The church mortgage (church addition) was paid in full. A van was purchased for the church. Membership increased to approximately 200. After great accomplishments and teaching, Rev. Heard resigned in April 2001, moving out of state.

*In 2001–2002,* Rev. Levi Robinson was called and served for one year. Under his leadership, the parking lot and the access road to the church was paved.

In March 2003-December 20012, Rev. Steven A. Tuck was called to serve as pastor. Under his leadership, there were approximately 20 members added to the church membership either through restoration or candidate for baptism. He restored two deacons, Henry Waters and William Thomas, ordained four new deacons; Walter Walters, Abraham Pettway, Anthony Waters and Elijah Waters. The Children's Church Ministry was reorganized, ladies and men's bathroom renovated, three tree removals, air conditioner replacement for Pastor's Study, installed ceramic tile in foyer and hallway. As part of our 2011, 150th "Sesquicentennial" Church Celebration we are leaving a Godly Legacy to future generations of Mt. Pleasant by means of a "A Time Capsule' that is buried at the outside right entrance of the church directly under the imprinted history of the church to be opened in the year of 2061. Pastor Tuck's favorite quote was "Empowering God's People and Advancing God's Kingdom, One Verse at a Time." After nine years of faithful service Steven A. Tuck resigned as our Pastor in December 2012.

In June 2013-April 2020, Rev. Dr. E.B. Washington was called and serves as our current pastor. Under Pastor Washington's leadership he and his wife gifted the church with our official church website *mtpleasantmissionarybc.com* in 2014. We had three new converts to be baptized: they were Ni'Asia W. Whitfield, Jennifer H. Bradley, Joshua Lowe and one member, Sister Shawanda Waters, who has returned back home to the Church Family. Under the leadership of Pastor Washington Brother Charles Hatcher was ordained as a Deacon.

*In August 2022,* Rev. Dr. Wallace Coleman was called to serve as pastor after the death of Rev. Dr. E.B. Washington in April 2020.

As the years embarked, "WE," the Mt. Pleasant Missionary Baptist Church is pressing toward the *mark* for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. We are proud of our Church's accomplishments through the years and we pray that we will remain steadfast and humble in God's Ministry. Let us worship together, pray together, lift up the Lord's Holy Name in thanksgiving together and bless Him for all the ways He has continuously blessed Mt. Pleasant.